The Organ Music of J. S. Bach

The Organ Music of J. S. Bach

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

This is a completely revised 2003 edition of volumes I and II of The Organ Music of J. S. Bach (1980), a bestselling title, which has subsequently become a classic text. This edition takes account of Bach scholarship of the 25 years prior to publication. Peter Williams's piece-by-piece commentary puts the musical sources of the organ works in context, describing the form and content of each work and relating them to other music, German and non-German. He summarises the questions about the history, authenticity, chronology, function and performance of each piece, and points out important details of style and musical quality. The study follows the order of the Bach catalogue (BWV), beginning with the sonatas, then the 'free works', followed by chorales and ending with the doubtful works, including the 'newly discovered chorales' of 1985.The bass line is largely made up of moving quavers below the crotchets of the c.f. , much as in chorales where manual and pedal parts are vice-versa. The pedala#39;s a#39; 4 Fussa#39; ... ca#39;, manual to ca#39;aquot;. The final pedal point is very striking, its harmony long- spaced, rhythms new, motifs more original than that at the end of BWV ... BWV 659 Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland (a#39;Leipzig Choralesa#39;) Copies: 362 BWV658- 658a.

Title:The Organ Music of J. S. Bach
Author: Peter Williams
Publisher:Cambridge University Press - 2003-12-11

You must register with us as either a Registered User before you can Download this Book. You'll be greeted by a simple sign-up page.

Once you have finished the sign-up process, you will be redirected to your download Book page.

How it works:
  • 1. Register a free 1 month Trial Account.
  • 2. Download as many books as you like (Personal use)
  • 3. Cancel the membership at any time if not satisfied.

Click button below to register and download Ebook
Privacy Policy | Contact | DMCA